Hello There From Texas

September 14, 2014

Hello there from Texas! I know I haven’t written for a little while, but let me update you on where I’m at now and what is new for me. July 29th I received a phone call that would change my life. I accepted a new position at the Head Athletic Trainer for Bishop Lynch High School in Dallas, TX. In the matter of 6 days, I accepted a new job, resigned from my previous position, moved from Waterloo, IL to Dallas, TX and started my new job. Much of that done within 48 hours. To call it a whirlwind would be a major understatement! But it has been such an amazing opportunity for me and I am very excited about my life right now. As I tell a lot of people, I am simply “living the dream.”

IMG_0519Today I am responsible for approximately 800 student-athletes, 12 athletic training student aides, a part-time assistant, and 20 Sports Medicine students. Not only am I an athletic trainer, but I’m also an educator. I teach a Sports Medicine class every other day and that has been an absolutely amazing experience for me. I have never taught before, but it only took me a couple of class periods to realize that I have a gift of passion that fuels my class each day. While I knew I had this passion, I didn’t know that I would be able to just get up in front of class and talk for 90 minutes! 47a4d726b3127cce98565a36b31100000035110AasXLNm5as2Qg

As I said, I am not only teaching but also the Head Athletic Trainer at BL. This has been a very busy 6 weeks now as I started working at 5AM on the morning of the first football practice. And I have worked nearly every day since then. Since then, I have looked at hundreds of physicals, entered a ton of information into our computer system, ImPACT tested many athletes, and been at practice each day. We’ve now played three varsity games along with a handful of subvarsity games. In our first JV game we had some excitement and we put our new medical staff to the test right away as we were challenged with a thoracic spine injury on the field. We’ve played Dallas (Carter) who was at one time a Texas powerhouse (Friday Night Lights y’all) and been to Chicago to face Fenwick High School.

My days and nights are filled with athletic training. It is quite often that I leave for work before the sun is up and I arrive at home long after the sun has set. But each day I look forward to going to work. And I know that my passion is guiding my practice each day. I love what I do and I love what I’m doing. There is nothing I’d rather be doing than working here at Bishop Lynch right now!

Every Athlete Deserves an Athletic Trainer. Every Friar Athlete Has an Athletic Trainer.

Go Friars!

One Response to “Hello There From Texas”

  1. TNT Man Says:

    Congrats – Fantastic Opportunity – Well Deserved.

    Have Great Year.
    TNT Man


Leave a Reply

