Inspiration to be an Athletic Trainer

January 11, 2015

I have a football coach who tells me all the time “I don’t know why anybody would want to be a (athletic) trainer. Y’all are always getting abused and working a ton for little pay!” Sometimes I think about that. Why do we do it? Why do we put up with coaches and parents always harassing us?

Quite frankly, it’s because every day I am inspired. I’m inspired watching my athletes return to their sport. I’m inspired watching my athletes work hard in rehab so that they can reach their goals. I have fallen in love with the rehabilitation of my athletes and helping them reach their goals. Over the last several months, I have developed a great deal of confidence in the job that I do and it just makes me want to get that much better. Midland Christian

Another reason I dedicate so much time to my career is because of a promise I made to one of my clinical instructors in college. It started out kind of as a joke, but it has become “our thing.” Whenever she would go somewhere and leave us alone for a few minutes, my comment was “Nobody dies on my watch.” This is a life mission of mine. And I hope to be able to look back at my career and say that I met that goal. I’ve had two experiences where that idea was tested. But every day I prepare myself for that reality that as athletic trainers we are put into situations that may warrant life-saving efforts.

Along those same lines, over the last few weeks I’ve been able to converse with a mother who unfortunately lost her son as he passed away in August due to exertional heat stroke. I’ve read many of the news articles and recently she and I started chatting. There are many unknowns in the incident surround his death but his body temperature had reached 107*. She and her son are another reason I am so passionate about what we do each day in the profession. No parent should have to suffer through that. It’s those kids and those parents for who I will continue to fight for.

Every Athlete Deserves an Athletic Trainer

One Response to “Inspiration to be an Athletic Trainer”


Leave a Reply

