What Does #AT4ALL Mean?

November 13, 2014

Simple question, but is there is a simple answer? Occasionally I get asked this question. What does #AT4ALL mean? To so many people, it can mean so many different things. I recently asked this question on Twitter and as of this writing, I only had one reply. And her reply was different than mine. Her reply was on a more global picture than my definition.

Every Athlete Deserves an Athletic Trainer. You’ve seen that message before, right? If you’ve read much on this blog or on my social media platform then you certainly have! This isn’t a saying just because I felt like writing a saying. This is a lifestyle for me. This is a passion for me. It is who I am. I approach this mentality each day when I walk into my job. When I took my new position, I actually added onto that message. It is important that my athletes, coaches, and parents re47a4ce20b3127cce985653140b3c00000015100AasXLNm5as2Qgcognize that not only does every athlete deserve an athletic trainer but at our school, every athlete has one. Between myself and my assistant, we have developed a philosophy that we will treat any athlete that walks through our door. We don’t just treat the football player. We don’t just treat the varsity athlete. We treat athletes at all levels and in all sports. We have 17 sports and we treat any athlete.

Every Athlete Deserves an Athletic Trainer. Cheerleader, Brigade member, football player, baseball player, soccer player. Yes, I have seen their injuries in the last week. Yes, I’ve treated those injuries in the last week. Every Friar Athlete Has One.

But moving more globally, what does “Every Athlete Deserves an Athletic Trainer” mean to me?

That means that each and every athlete should have access to appropriate athletic healthcare. If we put athletic trainers on every sports field in America, our rate of catastrophic injury and fatalities in sports will decrease. Athletic Trainers are well-trained in many different aspects of sports injury. From prevention of injury, to on the field evaluation, emergency response, and rehabilitation—Athletic Trainers are trained in each aspect. Athletic trainers save lives.

Let’s make #AT4ALL a reality! Every Athlete Deserves an Athletic Trainer.

Leave a Reply

