Athletic Trainers Aren’t Just First Responders

June 17, 2014

So many times over the last few weeks I’ve posted emergency and urgent reasons why high schools and youth teams needed Certified Athletic Trainers. But what must be understood is that Athletic Trainers do much more than just game coverage. Athletic Trainers are responsible for the evaluation of injuries, but also prevention of injuries. I’ve said it before and I truly mean it: I would rather spend 10 hours doing preventative work to prevent injury than 1 hour of rehabilitation after an injury. Prevention of injury does not simply mean taping ankles and wrists. But evaluating movement and making changes to movement patterns. Creating strength and conditioning programs which could very well prevent an ACL rupture. Evaluating the field surface, ensuring water and Gatorade are available during practices and working with the coaches in extreme heat to prevent heat illness. There are so many things that Athletic Trainers do to PREVENT injuries instead of having to deal with the aftermath later… #AT4ALL #NATM2014

2 Responses to “Athletic Trainers Aren’t Just First Responders”

  1. Mackenzie Says:

    Hi… My name is Mackenzie. I am a tenth grader and I play tennis and run cross country. I fell in off season tennis practice yesterday. I think I might have a concussion but I am too scared to tell my parents. Any advice?


Leave a Reply

