Passion and Plan

February 6, 2014

Last month, on a recommendation from my friend Kristi Messina, I ordered Jon Acuff’s book Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job and Your Dream Job. Unfortunately it has taken me longer to read this book than I originally thought. When I first started it, I was reading 20-30 pages at a time. But with everything else going on too, that dropped off. But tonight I picked the book up again and read a topic that I want to talk about right away..

So tonight I was reading about The Plan Myth. With this in mind, Jon talks about how you don’t have to have a plan to get to the goal that you want to achieve. In fact, that shouldn’t be the first step. Why? Because you don’t have enough information at that point to make out a plan to get to your goals. You can’t start with a plan and make a plan to develop a passion. No, instead you must have a passion first. If you aren’t passionate about it, how can you make a plan and how can you carry out any kind of action to get to that dream job?

So the first step is having a passion. I thought I knew what my passion was when I graduated high school. I was going to become an athletic trainer and deal with sports injuries. Sounds like a great gig, doesn’t it? Hang out with athletes and watch sports for a living. What more could you ask for? Had I begun to make my plan then I would have been sorely mistaken. I definitely wouldn’t be in the position I’m in now. I now know what my passion is, but there’s still things missing. I have very little planned. Heck, I’m not sure I could tell you what my “dream job” would be. And frankly, that’s okay.

Whatever plans I had at one time are likely gone by now. But what remains is my passion. And my passion became treating student-athletes of all sports and providing the very best athletic healthcare that I can personally do. Let’s be real honest here—my plans said nothing about female knee injuries, female hip dysfunction, cheerleading injuries, or anything of the sort. But my passion has led me down the path of researching some of those issues. Those are why I get up each morning. Yes, I have a lot of athletes that I care for and they’re all important to me. But I want to treat ALL athletes. And unfortunately it seems, the female athletes are often neglected.

So what I have taken from this is that having passion will lead you to your plan. Don’t try to plan your passion. It won’t work.

One Response to “Passion and Plan”

  1. Alyssa Says:

    You took the words right out of my mouth when you said “Sounds like a great gig, doesn’t it? Hang out with athletes and watch sports for a living. What more could you ask for?” In theory, AT sounds like the best job out there. Execution, is a different story. Burn out definitely clouds the passion for the job, but love that we have different avenues between the traditional and non-traditional settings to be able to cultivate our passion and grow with it as we grow throughout our own lives. We find that maybe the professional sports setting isn’t as cushy as we think and high school is just perfect for us. Or that being on the sidelines is not our true calling, and the indoors of clinics are really where our passion for the job flourishes. I bet even those who built their lives around research weren’t “planning” on reading journal articles & inputting data on a regular basis. Love how we can take aspects of this niche profession and find our own niche within it!


Leave a Reply

