An Athletic Trainer’s Thanksgiving

November 28, 2013

On Thanksgiving, we give thanks for many things. Many of those things are things we should be thankful for every day; not just once a year. But as we enjoy this time, we must remember those things we are grateful. As an athletic trainer, there are many things I’m thankful for.
1.Thankful that my employer has taken a vested interest in helping student-athletes. He has said numerous times his mission is the high school athlete. We share that mission; it truly is what keeps me going each day!
2.Thankful to work with a wonderful group of physicians. I have two family physicians who make themselves available on Friday nights on the sideline, but they provide so much more than that. I’m sure there are times that I annoy them with text messages and phone calls, but those two doctors are fantastic! And I can’t ask for anything better. Additionally, I am grateful to be able to work closely with an orthopedic surgeon and his physician assistant. They are always willing to squeeze an athlete onto the schedule and get the kid taken care.
3.Thankful to work with a PT staff who rehabs our patients back to health! We have a vast group of staff members who bring their A-games each day. Additionally this staff is a joy to work with. We have fun with our jobs each day and really let our personalities come out! They are able to make 8-hour shifts fly by!
4.Thankful to the administrators at the school. Without them making it happen, athletic medicine would not exist! The athletic director is fantastic. When I ask for something, I normally get it. He is easy to work with and work for.
5.Thankful for the coaches I work alongside. They understand my role as an athletic trainer and let me do my job. They recognize that we have common goals in mind; just simply have different responsibilities to reach those goals!
6.Thankful for the parents of the student-athletes. They entrust their kids’ safety in my hands each day. This trust very important.
7.Lastly, I’m thankful for the student-athletes. Without them, I’d have no job! The trust they have in me is unbelievable! And with all of the witty comments and stupid remarks, they definitely keep me entertained each day!

It truly is a blessing to get to do what I do each day. I can’t imagine doing anything else in the world. And having a group of people around me who share in that desire of Youth Sports Safety is just amazing. Thank you everyone.

Every Athlete Deserves an Athletic Trainer. #AT4ALL

Leave a Reply

