A New Chapter in my Life.. Sort of

April 20, 2012

The NATA says that over 70% of all athletic trainers have a masters degree or higher. Since a bachelor’s degree is all that is required to become a certified athletic trainer and practice as an athletic trainer, I think it bodes well for the profession when so many professionals have decided to continue their education and achieve advanced degrees. Those degrees could range anywhere from masters degrees in physical education to administration to degrees in physical therapy or physician assistant studies. Regardless, it is increased education and the profession is better for it.

I, too, have decided an advanced degree is what is needed in my professional development. I have thought I needed to go on and get a masters degree for a couple of years now and I have applied for multiple graduate assistantships over the last two application cycles. But I never found one that fit exactly what I was looking for. I have interviewed both over the phone and in person for a few different positions. This year I was offered one position after a phone interview, but I have elected to turn that down.

I realized that being a graduate assistant is just not very feasible. It was going to cost me way too much money and set me back on my desires to become the best athletic trainer possible and put me into a position that would definitely cause great distress with regards to finances for the long-haul.

Luckily for me, and others in my same position, I have found a program online that will allow me to complete a master’s degree and expand my knowledge of athletic training and sports medicine while working full-time and making a full-time salary.

Today I am happy to announce that I will be attending the University of South Florida in pursuit of a Master’s Degree in Medical Sciences: Athletic Training Concentration. This program is mostly online with a 5-day trip to Tampa next summer (2013) and specializes in pediatric sports medicine. I cannot wait to begin as it begins a new journey in my professional development. Meanwhile, this will also allow me to remain with Monroe Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine and working with the student-athletes at Freeburg Community High School.

This past Monday I officially accepted the offer in the College of Medicine at the University of South Florida. I am now a Bull. USF Health. Go Bulls!

One Response to “A New Chapter in my Life.. Sort of”

  1. TNT Man Says:

    Congrats. Good decision.

    TNT Man


Leave a Reply

