2011 Year in Review

December 27, 2011

Everybody else is doing it so I guess I might as well, too! I’ve had the blog going now for about 7 months and I’ve had some posts that have seen a lot of activity. I’m going to highlight the top 10 posts of the year.

Number one is a given here as it was BY FAR the most popular post that I made in 2011. It was titled “Ten Reasons Your School Needs an Athletic Trainer.” To show how popular it was, it had over ¼ of the total page views!

Number two on the list surprised me because I didn’t really think much about it when I wrote it. That one was simply titled “Pilates” and was just a brief introduction as I was trying to learn the system myself. It’s not something that I have stuck with too well, but I do enjoy it occasionally.

Number three was one that I really enjoyed writing. I intend to write more about this topic in the near future. “Reasons for ACL Injury in the Female Athlete” discussed some of the differences between male and female athletes which can lead to increased incidence of ACL injury.

Number four was “Continuing Education” as a part of my Going to Rehab series.

Number five made its way around Facebook and athletic training blogs alike. It was titled “What do you make?” and I think it highlights athletic training very well.

Number six was an opinion piece that I wrote about the “core training” as much as I hate that particular name. It has slowly crept into my language whether I like it or not.

Number seven is a tribute to a teammate I lost during the summer between my junior and senior year of high school. Chris Hebel was a friend and teammate of mine killed in a car accident on the way to practice one morning. This piece was actually written 4 years ago.

Number eight was a success story for me. “Why We Do What We Do” sums up well why I love my job!

Number nine was another opinion piece talking about curls. “Curls are for the Girls” is a slogan used often to let lifters know that bicep curls have little functional value…

Number 10 on the list for this year was my article on “Squats.”

I encourage you to check out these articles if you haven’t read them before. Maybe you have read them before, but you’ll find something new! That’s a look back at the last year. And now we’ll start looking forward to 2012!

One Response to “2011 Year in Review”

  1. TNT Man Says:

    Hmmmmm – I may follow your very insightful lead.


Leave a Reply

