What do you make?

November 7, 2011

I found this posted on one of my Facebook friends’ profile this morning. I re-posted it and have been amazed how much I’ve seen it tonight since then. Maybe it’s just that I have too many athletic trainer friends on Facebook from all over the country πŸ˜‰

Oh.. you’re a trainer?? (NO! I’m an Athletic Trainer, not a trainer) Oh, that’s cool, I wanted to do that. What do you make?” “WHAT DO I MAKE?? I make an ankle sprain that some say should take four weeks to get your child back on the field, playable in a week. I can make wearing a fanny pack look cool. I can devise your rehab program after a total knee replacement so you can run in that marathon y…ou’ve always dreamed of. I can tape an ankle before your kid misses 2 mins of play. I can make saving your childs life easier by explaining “getting your bell rung” isnt normal, it can be deadly. I can help you, and your child, survive a heart attack. I can look at a wrestler’s pee and tell them how much water to drink. I can make an athlete bigger, faster, better. I can translate “doctorese” from “torn anterior talofibular ligament” into ankle sprain. I went to college to EARN A DEGREE in more than just “water providing” but also injury prevention, evaluation, rehabilitation, administration, and overall problem listening. And I do it because I love my athletes, and I love my profession. Today, I might ice your knee, tomorrow I might save your life. I hope I make a difference, what do you make?”
7 Responses to “What do you make?”


  1. Yes, I think it’s that you have too many “Athletic Trainer” friends!


  2. […] five made its way around Facebook and athletic training blogs alike. It was titled β€œWhat do you make?” and I think it highlights athletic training very […]


  3. Sadly, That’s a fair question that I wish I had asked. The poor earning potential when I graduated with my certificate in AT from York U 13 years ago is precisely why I choose not to pursue my CATA designation, and went on and did a complete career change. That said, I still possess all of that knowledge and apply it to my own training, and my kids sports. Hopefully next year I’ll be on the bench with my girls as the trainer for their hockey team. (And yes, the name of that position needs to be changed to first aider as it is not doing the Athletic Therapy field any justice).


    • So you believe that you can be on the bench working as an Athletic Therapist even though you don’t hold certification as one? That right there is a problem. And one reason the profession does not get the respect it deserves.


      • No – you have totally misunderstood. Kids hockey in Canada requires every team to have a “trainer” on the bench. They call them a trainer, but their only certification requirement is to attend a one day first aid course. I am going to reinstate my first aid certification and volunteer to be a “trainer” (first aider) for my daughters teams. I am not dumb enough to think that I can use any of the Athletic Therapy skills I have learned besides the emergency first aid while acting in that capacity. CATA should definitely be cracking down on the sports organizations calling their first aiders “trainers” and I will certainly do my part with that education while attending the mandatory first aid training. That said, I certainly do apply my AT skills when treating my own sport injuries, and those of my own daughters in the privacy of my own home. I also often refer people who ask for injury advice to seek the services of CATA certified Athletic Therapist or if they are from the US, I refer them to a NATA certified Athletic Trainer.


Leave a Reply

