Advocates for Injured Athletes

September 16, 2011

Beth and Tommy Mallon have a story to tell; it’s a story they hope will help protect youth athletes across the nation.  The mother-son duo has launched Advocates for Injured Athletesbased out of San Diego, California.  Their goal: have a certified athletic trainer at every high school in America.

Tommy was a high school lacrosse player going for a ball when he and an opponent collided in a seemingly simple collision that would change lives permanently.  Luckily for Tommy, the certified athletic trainer present at the event would not allow Tommy to get up.  Riki Kirchhoff, ATC quickly and accurately assessed the situation and determined that Tommy had suffered a serious injury to his neck.

It has been over two years since the injury and the fight continues on and the Advocates for Injured Athletes just released a new video.  The website has a wealth of information about the organization and I encourage you all to visit and support them.  Every athlete deserves the care that Tommy received that day and that is their goal.

That is also my goal and one that I continually fight for.

Ms. Mallon and I have communicated over the last several months and she sent me this new video last night. This story still chokes me up every time I watch and I’ve seen these videos several times.

For me, it is amazing to think that I could likely be put into this sort of situation. Where I could be asked to save a life out there on the field. But that’s what we train for and that’s exactly what I plan to do if it should happen!

Please help this organization and please help youth athletes everywhere.

Every athlete deserves an athletic trainer.

 

 

 

One Response to “Advocates for Injured Athletes”


  1. […] Advocates for Injured Athletes organization is a big deal to me. Please make sure you’ve read that post and check out their website. Their videos are spot-on and I really appreciate the work they are […]


Leave a Reply

