Going to Rehab: Paperwork

September 14, 2011

Paperwork is a part of just about all jobs. Athletic Training is no different. I spend plenty of time each day doing paperwork. Some of it is related to my job as an athletic trainer; other stuff is related to my fitness responsibilities. Within my athletic training responsibilities, I have to complete injury reports, injury consultation forms, supply inventory, and keep reports on my hours worked. Certain injuries also require additional specific requirements.

For example, when I evaluate a concussion I complete a SCAT 2 evaluation packet (4 pages), a Head Injury Notification Form, and an injury consultation form. Then, I have to notify the parents normally and also notify school administrators and the school nurse so that she can notify the student-athlete’s teachers.

I track a lot of information. Not only do I complete the consult forms that we’re required to do and the weekly injury reports for the coaches, I also detail each injury in an Excel document so that I will be able to go back later and look at any trends or show my worth.

It takes a lot of work and it’s a part of the job most don’t enjoy, but it must be done. As they say, “if it’s not documented, it didn’t happen!”

Leave a Reply

