Reason #9 Your School Needs an Athletic Trainer

August 18, 2011

9. Athletic trainers understand the drive for an athlete to compete and want to work to help that student-athlete to succeed!

Many athletic trainers got into athletic training because they were an athlete themselves at some point during their life. They spend many days and nights working alongside the coaching staff and the players and really feel a part of the team. Other healthcare professionals look at an athlete just like any other patients and disregard the fact that this patient is an athlete. The athletic trainer wants the student-athlete to succeed in everything and part of that is helping them succeed in their given sport.

I recently met with the parents and some of the student-athletes at the high school that I cover. One thing I hope that I made clear is my job is not to hold a kid out of participation. I believe that would be furthest from the truth. I want my kids to compete day in and day out and I consider it my job to help them do that safely.

Leave a Reply

