Exercise of the Week: Dumbbell Bench Press

August 16, 2011

Week 4 is here already! I think this one may be one of the more basic exercises for me to highlight, but it’s another good one for athletes and general exercisers alike. As I have mentioned in the past, I am not an advocate of selectorized weight machines. This may, at times, make it a little more difficult for me to post about exercises that everybody can do. Frankly, I don’t feel like there are too many exercises that must only be set aside for the athletes, but sometimes my ideas don’t always work out the greatest.

The dumbbell bench press is exactly what it sounds like. Two dumbbells, a flat bench, and away we go! You can make this exercise more complicated by doing them on a stability ball, doing uneven weights, or doing them one arm at a time. Or you can just go simple and get strong!

In case you’re wondering, a video..

One Response to “Exercise of the Week: Dumbbell Bench Press”

  1. TNT Man Says:

    You are dead on – after years of doing machines – I now only do free weights. Big difference.


Leave a Reply

