Exercise of the Week: TRX Lunge

July 26, 2011

Welcome to the first week of the new feature: Exercise of the Week! This week’s exercise is one that I’ve been meaning to try for some time, but finally I did it this weekend.

The TRX Lunge can be done two different ways. In their demonstration DVD, they show this movement with your hands holding onto the handles and you lunge with your leg moving away from the anchor point. It works pretty well doing it that way and it’s a fine exercise, but I tried it putting one foot into the foot loop and using that as my resistance.

The video above shows how I have chosen to do this exercise. It really works the glutes and the hamstrings pretty well. You’ll feel the burn! It’s also an excellent exercise to work on stabilizing the knee. For this reason, I believe this makes an excellent rehabilitation exercise while also being a great “prehab” exercise. Your front knee should remain behind or directly above your toes and really your knee shouldn’t move laterally when you go down into the lunge position.

When the front knee is bent to 90 degrees, your back leg (in the foot loop) should come close to touching the floor. This is one of those exercises where I think it is beneficial to have a mirror so you can watch your form the entire time. I do it with a mirror to my left and a mirror in front of me.

Now be careful getting in and out of the loop because it is not difficult to get tangled up. You have to weave the handles together so they lock together. I think that’s one possible downfall of the TRX system is both handles must have equal weight or it will fall apart on you.

This exercise is a little bit more advanced and I encourage you to build up to it. Don’t feel like you have to be able to master this exercise on the first day!

I have done this exercise for a couple of days myself and also a co-worker has tried it out. We both like it. I already know at least one athlete who is a patient of ours who is going to hate this new exercise!

Let me know if you have questions and let me know what you think!

5 Responses to “Exercise of the Week: TRX Lunge”


  1. I love this exercise, I use it personally in my workout regiment. I wouldn’t call that a lunge in my terminology though, I would call it a split squat. More specifically, I would call it Rear Foot Elevated Split Squat or RFESS.

    This is Mike Boyle’s terminology and where I got the idea to do this exercise. He has almost totally abandoned the traditional squat in favor of this exercise or variants of this exercise (leg on a bench or stool).

    Great exercise for any lower body program!


  2. Paul, I think that is one of the biggest things that haunts the fitness and the rehab communities– there really is no “standard” language. In the past few months, I have utilized the Bulgarian Split Squat which the rear foot on a plyo box. I think that is one reason I have gone along with others in calling this a TRX lunge just to separate the name a little bit.

    I’ve moved away from the back squat for the most part and have moved toward more of this single leg stuff. I also do like the front squats and the goblet squats for bilateral activities.

    Make sure to check back tomorrow for a follow up..

    Thanks!


  3. […] think all there is to say here is this: Have you seen my previous blog this […]

  4. Derek Says:

    Do you think it would be okay to hold some light dumbbells while you perform this exercise to add a little more resistance?


Leave a Reply

