Do your actions match your goals?

July 4, 2011

Yes, I’m back to quoting Dan John again. I’m telling you: go pick up his book Never Let Go and get reading! It’s a fantastic book and well worth the $25 I spent on it. I read that book cover to cover when I got it and now I go back and read random chapters when I want to read something.

So, anyway back to the question at hand: Do your actions match your goals?

If I want to be a body builder, I have to lift weights and lift weights! If I want to run a marathon, don’t you think I should probably do a ton of cardio including probably a good amount of long-distance running? Now I’m not saying that you should never do any resistance training if you want to be a distance runner, but you can’t do exclusively resistance training and expect to be a distance runner.

Think about that the next time you head for the gym. Does your workout match your goals? Or are you just going in so that you can say you went to the gym? This also is a leading problem for why people don’t lose weight (if that’s their goal) and then they quit. Well, I’m sorry but sitting on the recumbent bike for an hour is not likely to produce much in the way of weight loss!

And maybe the better question I should ask is do you even have goals? Do you know what your goals are and how do you know when you’ve achieved them? Think about those questions and I’ll post later today some great information on goal setting!

One Response to “Do your actions match your goals?”


Leave a Reply

