Pilates

June 12, 2011

In my last post, I talked about “core” workouts. This is the next article in my series of “Core” thoughts to come. I will spend time sharing my thoughts about Pilates, planks, and other exercises in the very near future. Pilates is first on the list for me..

Pilates is not a new exercise program, but it is relatively new to me. The clinic I work in has multiple pieces of equipment used for Pilates and many of our physical therapists and physical therapist assistants have received training. Pilates is used for rehab purposes regularly in each of our clinics.

I do not have a ton of experience in Pilates yet, but I am slowly learning a little at a time. I was skeptical at first, but I figured it would be beneficial for me to know a little bit about it for my job. I have actually started to learn some of it and actually enjoy the exercises. Some people would probably consider it to be a fad like many other exercise programs out there, but I have already seen some benefits even in the small amount of use I’ve done.

Pilates focuses a lot on using your “core” for all movements. I have not seen any crunches in the Pilates I’ve done so far, but instead you are using your abdominal muscles to control the spine throughout movement. The first thing I learned on the Reformer is what is called “Footwork.” This series of exercises are pretty simple and involved lower-extremity movements, but you feel it in the abs. Pilates is also an excellent tool for flexibility and breathing. I use it as a relaxation workout which is probably not the intended purpose, but it works great for me! I get to work on things that I don’t get in the weight room and at the same time I am able to relax by controlling my breathing. It does not have the same intensity of the workouts I typically do so it helps me with a nice change of pace.

I am sure I have a long way to go with the Pilates stuff, but I have a book that I am using to try learning these exercises. So far, the biggest thing I have picked up is pulling the navel to the spine. This puts the spine into a neutral position taking stress off the back. I have found I work to find that neutral position randomly throughout the day now as well..

3 Responses to “Pilates”


  1. According to me.You are going right way.I suggest you keep it up with pilates.


  2. […] week’s Exercise of the Week involves Pilates. I wrote about Pilates quite some time ago on here and I’ve tried to continue to utilize it as a part of my workout […]


  3. […] me because I didn’t really think much about it when I wrote it. That one was simply titled “Pilates” and was just a brief introduction as I was trying to learn the system myself. It’s not […]


Leave a Reply

