CrossFit

June 12, 2011

Opens can of worms…

The CrossFit program is designed for universal scalability making it the perfect application for any committed individual regardless of experience. We’ve used our same routines for elderly individuals with heart disease and cage fighters one month out from televised bouts. We scale load and intensity; we don’t change programs.

That is from the CrossFit mainsite. It’s definitely an interesting program and I actually owe it quite a bit. CrossFit is what got me into my current kick when it comes to exercise. I call many of my workouts “CrossFit” although that term probably does not match up exactly. Very seldom do my partner and I do a CrossFit workout on their site, but we use those same ideas to create our own.

I am a member over at StrengthCoach.com and this was quite the topic earlier this spring. Most of the coaches over there are adamantly opposed to CrossFit because it lacks “specificity” and is considered to be inherently dangerous. I consider it to be just like most any other exercise program– it has its benefits; it has its cons. Take bits and pieces and move on.

Like I said, CrossFit got me onto my current kick. It introduced me to kettlebells, it introduced me to interval training, and has made working out fun again. Again, I don’t believe everything about the program, but I have had some great success with it. I’ll keep reading the mainsite and its forums and continue to learn. Others will discount the program, but to me it’s just one piece of the puzzle for my workouts.

Leave a Reply

